Zambia neighbours Democratic Republic of the Congo to the north, Tanzania to the north-east, Malawi to the east, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Botswana and Namibia to the south, and Angola to the west. The capital city is Lusaka, located in the south-central part of the country. The population is concentrated mainly around the capital Lusaka in the south and the Copperbelt to the northwest.
Zambia has been inhabited for thousands of years by hunter-gatherers, gradually leading to a multiethnic country. After visits by European exploration of Africa starting in the 18th century, Zambia became the British Colony of Northern Rhodesia towards the end of the nineteenth century.  
On 24 October 1964, the country declared independence from the United Kingdom and prime minister Kenneth Kaunda became the first head of state. The new name of Zambia was derived from the Zambezi river (Zambezi may mean"God's river") which flows through the western region of the country.
The World Bank in 2010 named Zambia as one of the world's fastest economically reforming countries. The headquaters of COMESA are in the capital Lusaka.