Patagonia is a geographic region containing the southernmost portion of South America. It is located in Argentina and Chile, integrating the southernmost section of the Andes mountains to the south west towards the Pacific ocean.
The name Patagonia comes from the word ''patagon''Antonio Pigafett. It has been interpreted later as "big foot" but the etymology refers to a literary character in a Spanish novel of the early XVI century  to describe the native people that his expedition thought to be giants.
The Argentine portion of Patagonia (Zona Austral) includes the provinces of Neuquen Province, Rio Negro Province, Chubut Province and Santa Cruz Province, Argentina, as well as the eastern portion of Tierra del Fuego Province, Argentina archipelago .    
The Chilean part of Patagonia embraces the southern provinces and regions of Valdivia Province, Los Lagos Region, it includes Puerto Montt and the Archaeological site of Monte Verde, and also the islands south including the west side of Tierra del Fuego and Cape Horn.