Mexico is bordered on the north by the United States; on the south and west by the Pacific Ocean; on the southeast by Guatemala, Belize, and the Caribbean Sea; and on the east by the Gulf of Mexico.
In 1521, the Spanish Conquest of the Aztec Empire colonized the territory. This territory would eventually become Mexico after independence in 1821.
Mexico is both one of the world's largest economies and a regional power
In 2007 was the 10th most visited country in the world with 21.4 million international arrivals.