Japan is located in the Pacific Ocean, it lies to the east of the Sea of Japan, People's Republic of China, North Korea, South Korea and Russia, stretching from the Sea of Okhotsk in the north to the East China Sea and Republic of China in the south. The kanji that make up Japan's name mean "sun-origin", which is why Japan is sometimes referred to as the "Land of the Rising Sun".
 The four largest islands are Honshu, Hokkaida¬ć, Kyushu and Shikoku, together accounting for ninety-seven percent of Japan's land area. The Greater Tokyo Area is one of the largest cities in the world, with over 30 million residents.