Brazil is the largest country in South America. It is the world's fifth largest country, both by area and population with over 190 million people. It is the only Community of Portuguese Language Countries in the Americas and the largest lusophone (Portuguese-speaking) country in the world.
Bounded by the Atlantic Ocean on the east. It is bordered on the north by Venezuela, Guyana, Suriname and the France overseas department of French Guiana; on the northwest by Colombia; on the west by Bolivia and Peru; on the southwest by Argentina and Paraguay and on the south by Uruguay. Numerous archipelagos form part of Brazilian territory, such as Fernando de Noronha, Rocas Atoll, Saint Peter and Saint Paul Archipelago, and Trindade and Martim Vaz. It borders with all other South American countries except Ecuador and Chile.
Brazil is also home to a diversity of Wildlife of Brazil, natural environments, and extensive natural resources in a variety of protected areas of Brazil.